## **Dealership FAQ**

## KAVIS transition schedule

- 1) AVIS will be turned off after the close of business for each county clerk on the last day of business for 2023 about half of clerks will be closed December 29, 2023. You will need to check with your local county clerk to determine their closing schedule.
- 2) All existing records will be migrated to KAVIS in their <u>current status</u> beginning December 30, 2023, which will take a few days. Until January 8, 2024, all county clerk offices will be closed to any vehicle related functions some offices will be completely closed; others will be open for legal processes and election related functions. Some may accept paperwork but cannot process it until the week of January 8-12, 2024.
- 3) A limited number of counties will open on January 8, 2024, to begin using KAVIS within a controlled environment and load. Gradually through January 12, 2024, more counties will come online with the goal of having full capacity by January 12, 2024. Check with your county for their scheduled open date and what will be their policy concerning dealer submissions.
- 4) With the move to KAVIS, new processes will come into effect, some of which are listed below. KAVIS will better enforce existing dealer related statutes. When processing transfers, the name(s) of the buyers will need to <u>exactly match</u> the Kentucky driver's license or Kentucky ID card and the <u>entire date of birth</u> needs to be included, not just the month. KAVIS will use the KYDL account for all transactions.

## Plate to customer – KRS 186.190

- With all transfers from a Kentucky title to another customer (in-state or out-of-state), if there is an active registration at the time of trade-in, <u>the plate must be removed from the vehicle and</u> <u>given to the seller</u>. That plate remains the property of the seller and can be re-issued to any vehicle they own or purchase, including a new vehicle they purchase in the same deal. If the seller declines the plate, then it should be returned to the county clerk's office.
- 2) <u>All purchases that include registration will require a new license plate</u>, either from the county clerk or from a plate already owned by the buyer. If it is the one from their trade-in, include a photocopy of that registration receipt or the plate with the paperwork submitted to the county clerk so that plate is re-issued to the customer.
- 3) If the customer wishes to reissue that plate to a different vehicle they already own, they will need to do that at the county clerk's office.
- 4) <u>All purchases that include registration will require a temp tag</u> for use until the registration is processed by the county clerk and the registration receipt is delivered to the customer.

## EV/HV Ownership fees – KRS 138.475

- 2022 HB 8 establishes an ownership fee for owners of hybrid vehicles and electric vehicles. Plugin hybrids are included in with all electric vehicles. The fees are \$120 for electric vehicles and \$60 for electric motorcycles and hybrid vehicles.
- 2) <u>These fees are collected when an owner initially registers the vehicle or at the time of annual renewal.</u>
- 3) The KyELT project will include these fees in the calculations of fees for the dealers, but there is currently <u>no notification system to inform dealers of the need to include these fees</u> in the paperwork for transfer when it is submitted to the county clerk. We are also informing county clerks of this fee and the need to collect it.
- 4) There is currently no block to prevent registration without paying the fee, but the <u>fee will</u> <u>continue to accumulate every year that remains unpaid</u>.
- 5) Sometime in 2024, this fee will be integrated into KAVIS and will then begin printing on registration renewal cards, including any year(s) of unpaid fees.