This legislative session, the General Assembly passed HB
249, Section 15. The legislation amends KRS 190.030 to eliminate
statutory fees for licenses issued to
motor vehicle dealers. The Commission has promulgated
regulations, including an emergency regulation, to establish new fees for
licenses. The new law becomes effective June 28, 2021. Therefore,
all licenses, included salesperson’s licenses, approved by the Commission after
Friday, June 25, 2021, will be subject to the new fee structure.
PUBLIC HEARING AND PUBLIC COMMENT
PERIOD: A public hearing on these administrative regulations shall be held on
July 21, 2021 at 9 a.m. local time at the Motor Vehicle Commission, 200 Mero
Street, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601. In the event the declaration of a State of
Emergency in Executive Order 2020-215 and the State of Emergency Relating to
Social Distancing in Executive Order 2020- 243 are not rescinded by July 21,
2021, this hearing will be done by video teleconference. Members of the public
wishing to attend may utilize the following link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89811502498?pwd=eGI4Y0x5cFNMSmxKcldrdStFTmlNdz09, or by telephone at 19292056099, your meeting I.D. to join in
is 898 1150 2498 and the passcode is 936923.
interested in being heard at this hearing shall notify this agency in writing
by five (5) workdays prior to the hearing of their intent to attend. If no
notification of intent to attend the hearing is received by that date, the
hearing may be canceled. This hearing is open to the public. Any person who
wishes to be heard will be given an opportunity to comment on the proposed
administrative regulation. A transcript of the public hearing will not be made
unless a written request for a transcript is made. If you do not wish to be
heard at the public hearing, you may submit written comments on the proposed
administrative regulation. Written comments shall be accepted through 11:59 PM
on July 31, 2021. Send written notification of intent to be heard at the public
hearing or written comments on the proposed administrative regulation to the
contact person below: CONTACT PERSON: Suzanne Baskett, Executive Staff Advisor,
Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission, 200 Mero Street, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601,
phone (502) 573-1000, fax (502) 227-8082, email Suzanne.Baskett@ky.gov.
Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission is finding that dealers are issuing 90 day
tags. Governor Beshear’s Executive Order expired on October 6,
2020. Therefore, dealers should no longer be issuing any temporary tags
for 90 days. Inform all staff who may issue temporary tags on behalf of
the dealership that they may upon the sale of a motor vehicle issue a 30 (THIRTY) day tag.
Healthy at Work Auctions 2.pdf
EFFECTIVE: May 11, 2020----Dealerships may
re-open if meeting the attached minimum guidelines (see two links below).
These guidelines must be followed to remain open.
know that in these difficult times that we are all facing, the Kentucky Motor
Vehicle Commission staff is ready to assist you. If you have any questions please refer to the
Office Number is 502-573-1000
Regarding Certificate of Insurance 502-229-1502
Regarding Hearings and Consumer Complaints 502-330-6036
In General and Assistance, Bonds, License Renewals, Offsite Sale/Display Events, Open Records Requests, Online Dealer Accounts and Website Issues 502-226-0186, or email me @ Chrissy.email@example.com
NOTE: THE EMAIL FOR CHRISTINA PAIGE HAS BEEN CHANGED TO firstname.lastname@example.org
please update your records accordingly.