Public Notice

The Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission is finding that dealers are issuing 90 day tags.  Governor Beshear’s Executive Order expired on October 6, 2020.  Therefore, dealers should no longer be issuing any temporary tags for 90 days.  Inform all staff who may issue temporary tags on behalf of the dealership that they may upon the sale of a motor vehicle issue a 30 (THIRTY) day tag. 
AUCTION DEALERS.docxAUCTION DEALERS.docx                                                Auctions Healthy At Work.pdfAuctions Healthy At Work.pdf   


                                                                                                Healthy at Work Auctions 2.pdfHealthy at Work Auctions 2.pdf  


EFFECTIVE: May 11, 2020----Dealerships may re-open if meeting the attached minimum guidelines (see two links below).  These guidelines must be followed to remain open.



Please know that in these difficult times that we are all facing, the Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission staff is ready to assist you.  If you have any questions please refer to the following:
Our Main Office Number is 502-573-1000 
Questions Regarding Applications 502-229-1389 or email kristina.bruner@ky.gov
Questions Regarding Certificate of Insurance 502-229-1502
Questions Regarding Hearings and Consumer Complaints 502-330-6036
Questions In General and Assistance 502-226-0186, or email me @ Chrissy.paige@ky.gov 
The Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission Meeting scheduled for April 10, 2020 is cancelled.  Applications before the commission will be considered when Governor Beshear’s EO 2020-246 has expired, terminated, or amended.  We appreciate your understanding regarding this matter.

 NOTE: THE EMAIL FOR CHRISTINA PAIGE HAS BEEN CHANGED TO chrissy.paige@ky.gov  please update your records accordingly.

Online Renewal Instructions


Dealer License Renewal

The Dealer License Renewal system is now online:

  • Renew your Dealer and Salesperson licenses by December 31, 2021
  • License certificates can now be printed directly from the renewal system
  • ACH, Credit Card, and Debit Cards accepted
Renew Dealer License

Salesperson Management

Introducing the new Salesperson Management application for Dealers:

NOTE: To obtain current Salesperson Certificates using the Salesperson Management online application, your Dealer License must be current. If you have not renewed your Dealer License, please see the Dealer License Renewal section above.

  • Dealers can now add a Salesperson, update Salesperson information, and end-date Salespersons who no longer work at the dealership
  • New Salesperson license certificates can now be printed directly from the system
  • ACH, Credit Card and Debit Cards accepted

The Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission is responsible for:

  • Licensing motor vehicle dealers, salespersons, manufacturers, distributors, and their representatives pursuant to KRS Chapter 190.
  • Providing consumer protection by investigating complaints against dealerships in regards to purchasing a vehicle and dealer failing to transfer to the customer.  Customer trading in a vehicle and dealer failing to take it out of their name.  Dealer plate and temporary tag usage.   We do not handle matters of restitution.
  • Issuing​ administrative citations to dealers who fail to comply with the laws governing motor vehicle sales.
  • The Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission meets the second Friday of each month at 9:00 a.m. located at 200 Mero Street 1st Floor Frankfort, Kentucky.


Current Commission Members:

  • Doug Dotson, Chairman
  • Chuck Coldiron
  • Del Farmer
  • Ron Jackson
  • David Hinton
  • Raymond H. Cottrell Jr.
  • Stephen Gates
  • John Daunhauer
  • Dennis Ashford
  • Tim Short
  • Claude Buddy Allen Berry IV